Departments‎ > ‎

Special Education

Auburn's Special Education Department is dedicated to providing a free and appropriate individual educational programming for school-age students from the ages of three to twenty years of age.



Special Education programs are written by a team of people focusing on the individual needs of each student. Students must be identified under one of the following disability categories as defined by the Federal Regulations, Indivduals with Disabilities Education Act, and Maine Department of Education Regulations:


    • Autism
    • Deaf-Blindnes,
    • Deafness
    • Emotional Disturbance
    • Hearing Impairment
    • Cognitive Impairment
    • Orthopedic Impairment
    • Other Health Impairment
    • Specific Learning Disabilities
    • Traumatic Brain Injury
    • Visual Impairment including Blindness
    •  and in need of specially designed instruction to be eligible to receive special education services.





Auburn School Department 

Special Education


Ryan Fairchild, Director of Special Education

 Laura Shaw, Coordinator of Special Services


Diane Chamberlain, Special Education Executive Assistant

207-784-6431 Ext. 1209

Fax: 207-333-6628



 Special Education 

Team Leaders 

Edward Little High School  

Rod Boutot, Team Leaders

207-333-6652 Ext. 2744

Auburn Middle School   

Ethel Macklin, Team Leader, 

207-333-6655 Ext. 2317

Sherwood Heights Elementary School
Sueanne Densmore, Team Leader


 Washburn School

Jessica Michaud, Team Leader



East Auburn Community School

 Josephine Parker, Team Leader

207-782-4142 Ext 2224

Park Avenue Elementary School 
Janet Viere, Team Leader



Walton School

Alejandra Rodriguez, Team Leader


Fairview School 
Melissa Goody, Team Leader 



Special Education

Administrative Assistants

Edward Little High School

Laura Foulke

207-333-6652 Ext. 2744

Auburn Elementary Schools

Kim Lidstone




Section 504

District Coordinator

Ryan Fairchild

207-784-6431 Ext 1209