District Info‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Why Early Release Wednesdays for Grades K-12?

posted Apr 27, 2017, 7:23 AM by Roz Walton   [ updated Apr 27, 2017, 7:26 AM ]

Voting for 2017-18 School Calendar will take place on WednesdayMay 3rd

Early Release Wednesdays for grades 7-12 proposed for the 2017-2018 School Year.

What is the proposal?

·       Thirteen Wednesdays have been identified for grades 7-12 early release. Noted on the calendar by an orange square.

·       Students will be dismissed at 11:30. K-6 will be dismissed at 12:30.

·       Students will be able to have lunch prior to dismissal.

Why is the school department proposing this change?

The Auburn School Department staff is committed to providing a high quality education for all students. The model of
education is shifting in response to the changing world around us and we must comply to state mandates.

·       To ensure all students meet certain levels of proficiency in the identified learning targets for graduation.

·       To implement best practices in teaching and learning to support all students meeting graduation requirements.

·       To teach a common curriculum and grade in a consistent way PreK-12.

·       To raise the rigor of instruction.

Our 7-12 staff is being asked to do the same work as the elementary staff and needs the timafforded to the elementary staff.
The district does recognize the impact of time on moving ou
Vision 2020 forward and meeting state mandates.

How will the time be used?

·       Staff will have set agendas for tasks that need to be completed related to the work noted above.

How will the loss of instructional time be recovered?

·       Reduce mentor and advocacy block time

            ·       Review all instructional schedules to maximize instructional time throughout the week

           ·       AMS - Core Instruction will be the focus on early release Wednesdays

           ·       ELHS - 45-50 minute classes instead of 80 minutes on early release Wednesdays

           ·       Shortened time between classes at the high school

           ·       No recess time at AMS on early release days

The School Committee will be voting on the proposed calendar Wednesday, May 3, 2017 
during their regula
School Committee meeting at 7:00pm.  


The School Committee wants to hear from you about this proposal. You are welcome to attend
the School Committee meeting on Wednesday, May 3, 2017 to share your views. You may also
send an email to School Committee member:  


            Ward 1:                    Heidi Lachapelle         hlachapelle@auburnschl.edu

            Ward 2:                    Bonnie Hayes             bhayes@auburnschl.edu

            Ward 3:                    Thomas Kendall         tkendall@auburnschl.edu

            Ward 4:                    Tammy Neilson          tneilson@auburnschl.edu

            Ward 5:                    Daniel Poisson           dpoisson@auburnschl.edu

            At Large:                  Brent Bilodeau            bbilodeau@auburnschl.edu

            At Large:                  Faith Fontaine             ffontaine@auburnschl.edu

            Mayor's Rep.:          James Pross                jpross@auburnschl.edu

 See attached proposed calendar

Ċ
Roz Walton,
Apr 27, 2017, 7:23 AM
Comments